Blondie Recruit Sia, Charli XCX, Johnny Marr for New Album0 Comments

By admin
Posted on 01 Feb 2017 at 9:38am

Blondie recruited an eclectic batch of artists for their upcoming 11th LP, Pollinator, out May 5th via BMG. TV on the Radio‘s Dave Sitek, Sia, Charli XCX, Laurie Anderson, Blood Orange’s Devonté Hynes, Joan Jett, former Smiths/Modest Mouse guitarist Johnny Marr and Strokes guitarist Nick Valensi all contributed to the album, produced by indie-rock veteran John Congleton.

The original members – singer Debbie Harry, guitarist Chris Stein, drummer Clem Burke – appear throughout the LP. Lead single “Fun,” co-written by Sitek, offers a modern twist on the band’s sleek disco-funk, blending a four-on-the-floor groove with pulsating electronic flourishes.

“We’re very serious about fun,” Harry said in a statement about the album, Pitchfork reports. Stein added: “Quoting Emma Goldman, ‘If I can’t dance I don’t want to be part of your revolution.’ In these trying times we need some fun.” 

Pollinator, which follows 2014’s Ghosts of Download, also features contributions from comedian-singer John Roberts (Bob’s Burgers), “Songify the News” founders the Gregory Brothers and Adam Johnston (an Unkindness).

Blondie previously announced Australia and New Zealand tour dates for April. Additional concerts for the U.S., Canada, the UK and Europe will be revealed soon.

Pollinator Track List

1. “Doom or Destiny”
2. “Long Time
3. “Already Naked”
4. “Fun”
5. “My Monster”
6. “Best Day Ever”
7. “Gravity”
8. “When I Gave Up On You”
9. “Love Level”
10. “Too Much”
11. “Fragments” 

Rolling Stone Latest Music News

None found.
Read Also
You might also likeclose
+ +